Dominion Prosperity(2nd Edition) Rules

Donald X. Vaccarino

Ah, money. There's nothing like the sound of coins clinking in your hands. You vastly prefer it to the sound of coins clinking in someone else's hands, or the sound of coins just sitting there in a pile that no-one can quite reach without getting up. Getting up, that's all behind you now. Life has been good to you. Just ten years ago, you were tilling your own fields in a simple straw hat. Today, your kingdom stretches from sea to sea, and your straw hat is the largest the world has ever known. You also have the world's smallest dog, and a life-size statue of yourself made out of baklava. Sure, money can't buy happiness, but it can buy envy, anger, and also this kind of blank feeling. You still have problems - troublesome neighbors that must be conquered. But this time, you'll conquer them in style. 

This is the 4th addition to the game of Dominion. It adds 25 new Kingdom cards to Dominion, plus 2 new Basic cards that let players keep building up past Gold and Province. The central theme is wealth; there are treasures with abilities, cards that interact with treasures, and powerful expensive cards. Dominion: Prosperity cannot be played by itself; to play with it, you need the Basic cards and rulebook (Dominion provides both). 

We hope you enjoy this expanding world of Dominion! 


300 cards consisting of    

250 Kingdom cards     

10 each of Anvil, Bank, Bishop, Charlatan, City, Clerk, Collection, Crystal Ball, Expand, Forge, Grand Market, Hoard, Investment, King’s Court, Magnate, Mint,  Monument,  Peddler, Quarry, Rabble, Tiara, Vault, War Chest, Watchtower, and  Worker’s Village   

12 each of two new Basic cards: Colony and Platinum   

25 Randomizer cards (one of each Kingdom card with a blue banded back)   

1 blank card   

16 1 point  tokens     

15 5 point  tokens     

1 Plastic organizer tray

1 Organizing Inlay   

1 Rule booklet 


Prosperity includes 25 randomizer cards (one for each Kingdom card in Prosperity). Players will need the Treasure cards, Victory cards, Curse cards, and Trash mat/card from either Dominion or Base Cards (or older editions of Intrigue), and the rules from Dominion to play with this expansion. As with previous Dominion games, players must choose 10 sets of Kingdom cards for each game. If players use the random approach for choosing sets, they should shuffle the randomizer cards from this expansion with those of any other Dominion games they choose to play with. 

Prosperity includes two new base cards, Platinum and Colony. You can include them whenever you want to; they are always used together. If you want to determine when to use them randomly, choose a random Kingdom card being used, and if it is from Prosperity, use Platinum and Colony. When used, they are in the Supply and can be bought and gained, but they do not take the place of Kingdom cards; you still have the usual 10 Kingdom cards. Use 8 copies of Colony for games with 2 players, 12 for games with 3 or more players. Use all 12 Platinums with any number of players.  

Platinum and Colony

Colony is a Victory card worth 10 VP. Platinum is a Treasure worth $5. They are just another step up after Province and Gold. 

In games using Platinum and Colony, there is an additional way the game can end. At the end of each turn, the game ends if one of these three conditions is met: the Supply pile of Province cards is empty OR any 3 Supply piles are empty (4 piles in a 5-6 player game) OR the Supply pile of Colony cards is empty. 

Victory Tokens

The VP tokens are simply tokens that are worth  at the end of the game. They provide a way to score VP that is not cards in a player's deck. They come in 1 and 5  amounts; make change as needed. They are not counter-limited; use a replacement if you run out. Cards say "+1 VP" (or other amounts) to indicate that a player takes VP tokens. Cards that give +VP take the tokens from the pile of unused tokens, not from a player. VP tokens are not private; anyone can count them. 

Special Treasures

Prosperity includes nine Treasure cards with rules on them. They are in the Supply if selected as one of the 10 Kingdom cards for the game; they are not part of the Basic Supply. They are just like normal Treasures, but have special abilities. They are played during the Buy phase like normal Treasures and are affected by cards that refer to Treasures. 

Players may play Treasure cards in any order, and may choose not to play some (or all) of the Treasure cards they have in hand. The order can matter; for example Bank counts Treasures played before it, and itself, but not Treasures played after it. 

During the Buy phase, playing Treasures comes strictly before buying cards; once a card is bought, no further Treasures can be played. This can be important, for example with Grand Market or Mint. 

Sample Turn

Sylvia has a hand of all Treasures at the start of her turn: War Chest, Bank, Gold, Hoard, and Crystal Ball. She doesn't do anything in her Action phase, going straight to her Buy phase. She doesn't just lay down all of her Treasures at once; the order may matter. First she plays War Chest, and waits for Natalie (the player to her left) to name a card she can't gain with it. Natalie thinks and names Crystal Ball. Sylvia chooses a Duchy to gain. 

Sylvia plays Crystal Ball next. She looks at her top card; it's another Crystal Ball. She plays it. She looks at her top card; it's another War Chest. She plays it. Natalie names Duchy; Sylvia can't gain a Duchy or a Crystal Ball. Sylvia gains a Vault.

Sylvia plays her Gold and Hoard. She plays Bank last; she has 7 Treasures total in play, so it makes +$7. That plus the $5 from the Gold and Hoard and $2 from the Crystal Balls makes $14 total. She only has one buy, and buys a Colony. Hoard causes her to gain a Gold. Sylvia discards her played cards, and draws 5 cards to end her turn. 

Kingdom Card Notes

Anvil: Discarding a Treasure is optional. If you discard one, you gain a card costing up to $4, which comes from the Supply and goes to your discard pile. 

Bank: When you play Bank, it makes +$1 per Treasure you have in play, counting itself. If you play two copies of Bank in a row, the second one will make $1  more than the first one. Playing more Treasures after Bank will not change how much $ you got from it. 

Bishop: Trashing a card is optional for the other players but mandatory for you. If players care about the order things happen for this, you trash a card first, then each other player may trash a card, in turn order. Only the player who played Bishop can get VP tokens from it. potions and debt in costs is ignored; for example if you trash Golem (from Dominion: Alchemy), which costs potion $4, you get 3  VP total. If you have no cards left in hand to trash, you still get the $1 and 1VP . 


Charlatan: This turns Curses into Treasures for the entire game and in all situations; it's just like the bottom bar says "Curse - Treasure." They may be played for +$1 in the Buy phase. They are trashed from play when gaining Mint, Magnate counts them in your hand, Courtier (from Intrigue) gives you two choices when revealing one, and so on. They are still Curses and still worth -1 VP at the end of the game.  

City: You draw a card and get +2 Actions no matter what. If there is just one empty pile in the Supply, you also draw another card. If there are two or more empty piles, you both draw another card, and get +$1 and +1 Buy. There are no further bonuses if three or more piles are empty. This only checks how many piles are empty when you play it; what you got does not change if a pile becomes empty (or non-empty, such as due to Encampment from Empires). This only counts Supply piles, not non-Supply piles like Spoils from Dark Ages. 

 Clerk: A player with no cards in their deck will have the card they put on top become the only card in their deck. At the start of your turn, you may play any number of Clerk cards from your hand, one at a time, without using up your regular Action play. 

Collection: You get +1VP  for each Action card you gain, whether bought, or gained some other way. Multiple copies of this are cumulative; if you have two Collections in play and buy a Village, you'll get +2VP .

Crystal Ball: If you don't choose to do any of those things, you leave the card on your deck. If this plays an Action during your Buy phase that gives you +Actions, that doesn't let you play more Action cards in your Buy phase; if it draws Treasure cards, you can still play them. 

Expand: If you do not have a card to trash, you do not gain one. If you do gain a card, it comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. The gained card does not need to cost exactly $3 more than the trashed card; it can cost that much or less, and can even be another copy of the trashed card.  

Forge: "Any number" includes zero. If you trash no cards, you have to gain a card costing $0 if you can. If there is no card at the required cost, you do not gain a card. The card you gain comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. Potion (on cards in Dominion: Alchemy) and Debt (on cards in Dominion: Empires) are not added, and the card you gain cannot have those symbols in its cost. 

Grand Market: A single Copper in play is enough to stop you from buying Grand Market. You do not have to play all of the Treasures in your hand. Coppers in your hand do not stop you from buying Grand Market - only Coppers in play do. Coppers that were in play earlier in the turn but aren't anymore also do not stop you; if you have 11 Coppers in play and 2 Buys, you could buy a Mint, trash all of your played Treasures, and then buy a Grand Market. You can gain Grand Market other ways - for example with Expand - whether or not you have Coppers in play. Treasures other than Copper do not prevent you from buying Grand Market, even if they are worth $1 (such as Crystal Ball). Remember you cannot play more Treasures after buying a card.

Hoard: You only gain a Gold when you gain a Victory card that you bought, not when you gain a Victory card other ways (such as via War Chest).  The Gold comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. This is cumulative, and works on all gains; for example if you have two Hoards in play, and buy and gain two Estates, you'll gain four Golds total. 

Investment: You trash a card no matter what; it's okay if Investment was your last card in hand, you just fail to trash a card then. Then you choose either to get +$1, or to trash Investment. If you trash it, you reveal your hand and get +1 VP per differently named Treasure there; for example if you reveal two Coppers and a Silver, you get +2 VP. You can still play the revealed Treasures after resolving Investment. 

King's Court: This is similar to Throne Room, but plays the Action card three times rather than twice. Playing an Action card from your hand is optional. If you do play one, you resolve it completely, then play it a second time, then play it a third time. You cannot play other cards in-between (unless told to by the card, such as with King's Court itself). Playing Action cards with King's Court is just like playing Action cards normally, except it does not use up Action plays for the turn. For example if you start a turn by playing King's Court on Village, you would draw a card, get +2 Actions, draw another card, get +2 Actions again, draw a 3rd card, and get +2 Actions again, leaving you with 6 Actions. If you King's Court a King's Court, you may play an Action card three times, then may play another Action card three times, then may play a 3rd Action card three times; you do not play one Action card nine times. 

Magnate: For example, if your hand had two Coppers and a Silver, you'd draw 3 cards. 

Mint: When you gain this, you trash all of your non-Duration Treasure cards from play (but not ones in your hand or elsewhere). (Duration cards are in other expansions, such as Seaside). This doesn't cause you to lose the $ you made from those cards this turn. Remember that you don't have to play all of the Treasures from your hand each turn, just the ones you want to play, and you can't play more Treasures after buying cards. If you gain this in your Action phase, such as with Artisan, you will usually not have any Treasures in play to trash. When you play this, you may reveal a Treasure from your hand to gain a copy of it from the Supply, putting the gained card into your discard pile. The revealed card stays in your hand and can still be played that turn. If you gain a Mint with Tiara in play, you can put the Mint on your deck, regardless of whether you trash the Tiara before or afterwards.  

Monument: You get +$2 and take a VP token. 

Peddler: Most of the time, this costs $8. During a player’s Buy phase, this costs  $2 less per Action card that player has in play. This applies to all Peddler cards, including ones in hands and decks. It never costs less than $0. If you play King's Court on Worker's Village, for example, that's just two Action cards you have in play, even though you played the Worker's Village three times. Buying cards using the promotional card Black Market is something that does not happen during a Buy phase, so Peddler still costs $8 then. 

Quarry: All Action cards, including cards in the Supply, in play, in decks, and in hands, cost $2 less for the rest of the turn, but not less than $0. This is cumulative; if you play two Quarries in your Buy phase, then King's Court will only cost $3, rather than the usual $7. This is also cumulative with other effects that modify costs. 

Rabble: The other players shuffle if necessary to get 3 cards to reveal, and just reveal what they can if they still have fewer than 3 cards. They discard revealed Treasures and Actions and put the rest back on top in whatever order they want. 

Tiara: If you gain multiple cards later in the turn after playing Tiara, you may put any or all of them onto your deck. This applies both to cards gained due to being bought, and to cards gained other ways, such as with War Chest. If you play a Tiara with a Tiara, you will be able to play two Treasures from your hand twice each - you don't play one Treasure four times.  

Vault: "Any number" includes zero. You draw 2 cards first; the cards you just drew can be among the cards you discard. Each other player chooses whether or not to discard 2 cards, then discards 2 cards if they chose to, then draws a card if they did discard 2 cards. A player with just one card can choose to discard it, but won't draw a card. A player who discards but then has no cards left to draw shuffles in the discards before drawing. 

War Chest:  The first War Chest you play in a turn can't gain whatever card they name; the second can't gain the card they name, or the card they previously named, and so on. The gained card comes from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. You can still gain the named cards other ways, just not via War Chests. They do not have to name a card in the Supply; however War Chest gains a card from the Supply, and puts it into your discard pile. 

Watchtower: When you play this, you draw cards one at a time until you have 6 cards in hand. If you have 6 or more cards in hand already, you don't draw any cards. When you gain a card, directly afterwards, you may reveal Watchtower from your hand, to either trash the gained card or put it on top of your deck (with Watchtower staying in your hand). You may reveal Watchtower whether you gained the card due to buying it, or gained it some other way, such as with Expand or Charlatan. You may reveal Watchtower each time you gain a card, and each gain is a separate decision. Cards trashed with Watchtower were still gained; they were just immediately trashed afterwards. If a gained card is going somewhere other than to your discard pile, such as a card gained with Mine, you can still use Watchtower to trash it or put it on your deck. 

Worker's Village: You draw a card and get +2 Actions and +1 Buy. 


Thanks  1st Edition Game Developers: Valerie Putman and Dale Yu 1st Edition playtesters: Ted Alspach, Kelly Bailey, Bill Barksdale, Alex Bishop, Dan Brees, Josephine Burns, Max Crowe, Ray Dennis, David Fair,  Lucas Hedgren, Nathan Heiss, Wei-Hwa Huang, John Kallaugher, Bryon Kizer, Tom Lehmann, W. Eric Martin, Destry Miller, Miikka Notkola,  Anthony Rubbo, Molly Sherwin, Sir Shufflesalot, Paul Sottosanti, John Vogel, Chris West, Jeff Wolfe, the 6am Gamers, the Cincygamers, and the Columbus Area Boardgaming Society. 

2nd Edition head playtester: Matthew Engel 2nd Edition playtesters: Julian Abernethy, Jeff Boschen, Cade Conradson, Dibson T Hoffweiler, David Justiss, Eli Kaplan, Ben King, Steveie King, Myke Madsen, Billy Martin, Michael McClellan, Kieran Millar, Destry Miller, Jacob Nails, nasmith99, Carl Romao, Ingo Warnke, and Kevin White. 

© 2009, 2016, 2020, 2022  Rio Grande Games; All Rights Reserved, If you have any comments, questions,  or suggestions, please contact us at: PO Box 1033, Placitas, NM 87043, USA or by email at:, Please visit our web site at